The boy kicked out at the world…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

And so it begins…

leave a comment »

Hi, my name is Skylar, and I’m an alcoholic.

Okay, so that’s not entirely true.  I’m more of what would be classified as a binge drinker.  Of course, that’s alright, since I’m still an undergrad.  Undergrads are allowed to be binge drinkers.  In fact, if you pay attention, you’ll notice that undergrads are the only binge drinkers.  When you really get down to it, binge drinking is ultimately just a mild form of alcoholism.  Yet, for some reason, our culture has decided that binge drinking is less of a concern (though still worthy of a moral panic), probably because it’s seen as a past time of the best and brightest (read: whitest) of America’s youth.  You know, kind of like baseball.  It’s not until you’re out of college that binge drinking becomes something people are really concerned about.  Then it’s alcoholism.  Of course, that’s if you went to college.  If not, I hate to inform you, but you’ve been a pathetic drunk since you were 18.

Above is a sample of what you’ll get if you choose to read my blog.  I’m the type of writer who, in the grand tradition of Joyce and Wolfe, writes pretty much anything that comes to mind.  It’s true.  Unless I’m working on a piece of fiction, I don’t usually sit down and plot what I’m going to say.  I just go with the flow.  (Ironically, I do not do the same in my everyday life, which is full of angsty indecision and minor nervous breakdowns.)  My goal, if you will, is simply to offer my take on current events and my own life, finding the humor and truth in the world around me.  I’ve been doing it since I was 15, when I began my first blog on the now-defunct TeenOpenDiary.com.  That was in 2001, a few months before 9/11—back when I still had my childlike naivety and innocence, in more ways than one.  Since then, I’ve blogged on various websites, but finally feel mature enough to sit at the adult table of WordPress.  Yes, I’ve grown up.

Well, somewhat.  I’m still that kid who wears pajamas to class, sleeps with a stuffed animal, and thinks of Lunchables as being an acceptable dinner.  Yet I’m also the young man who is feverishly working on his first novel, finishing his bachelor’s degree, hoping for acceptance to a decent graduate program and to find a nice boy to take home to Dad.  So far, I haven’t had much luck in any of these endeavors.  I was raised to believe a real man creates his own destiny, though, and so I’ve decided to make mine a reality.  This includes:

  • Getting into a quality graduate program in creative writing.
  • Finishing and publishing my first novel by the time I’m 27.
  • Moving to Britain, which has been my lifelong dream.
  • Falling in love with Prince Charming.  (Or a fairy princess, as the case may be.)

So there.  Now you know a little about me.  As I feel I’ve gotten this out of the way, don’t expect to be eased into my life.  Especially since anything you want to know about my last 8 years can be found by doing a simple Google search.  (No really, go on, try it.  It’s scary what the G-machine can pull up.)  I’m off to DC for this weekend’s National Equality March, so expect my own personal take on it when I return home.  In the meantime, I bid you adieu in hopes that you’ll keep reading and that possibly this blog will make you think twice about whatever topics we discuss here.

Or, at most, that you’ll laugh with me, and not at me.

Written by skylarjordan

October 13, 2009 at 2:20 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

